TIME magazine cover

Elijah Wood

I have began to recreate the typical TIME magazine front cover. TIME magazine are known well for their red boarder and their style of font for their masthead. Therefore, to recreate their typically style I have used these conventions.

I have used a cropped a photo of a celebrity to create a head and shoulder shot, therefore, the eyes of the celebrity will be seen above the fold which may grasp the readers (or passers by) attention thus hopefully wanting to buy the magazine. I have also used a scoop ‘WHERES FRODO NOW?’ above the fold to hook the readers in and want to read the magazine. I decided to use a black and white image, of the celebrity, to contrast with the red masthead and border; standing out from the other magazines. The black and white also creates a sophisticated look to the magazine, which helps with the overall look to the TIME magazine. The image I chose has use of hard lighting darkening one side of the celebrity’s body and face, however, the opposing side has use of a soft light consequently, bringing out the facial expressions, of the celebrity. Also, by increasing the feel of eye contact between the celerity and the audience helps to draw more people in because it feels as if the celebrity is directly connecting with the individual, therefore, drawing them in.

However, if I was to change or add anything to the magazine I would use callouts from the interview with the celebrity, this would be something like “I was worried about playing something so different to Frodo”, thus, helping to draw fans of the celebrity in to want to read the article and buy the magazine. I would also use a small light shadow and then a darker one underneath around the edge of the image to create the view that the image is on top of the border, rather than the other way around. This helps to bring out the image and helping it to stand out. I also increase the amount of scoops in the column inch, and use different text fonts to increase the interest on the cover. Although, I would still keep the colours to a limit of 3 or 4 and  keep the cover looking simple (even though it’s not) to keep TIME magazine’s typical sophisticated style.

Leave a comment